Reviews

What people are saying about Bedford Lodge




Lovely, clean and very accommodating - Rating 5/5

I checked in very late at night but Gilly had left a helpful welcome note for me. Room was clean, comfy and compact. I had to check out early, and she kindly left me some delicious croissants, fruit (sorry i didn't havd time to eat it!) and even some soya milk which I had requested.Thanks for having me!

Response

You are very welcome Charly! Thanks for a nice review! Sorry we never met - maybe next time!Gilly

Reviewer:Charly W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 day ago


Our stay at Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for a week at the Bedford Lodge hotel, the owners Gilly &Gary were warm friendly and approachable.The breakfast was excellent with a good choice on the menu.The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is set in lovely surroundings.We thourougly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr A G | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 2 days ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to book the Lodge fairly last minuite. Not knowing what to expect we found that the whole place was very presented and quite homely, the room itself was brillaint and quite clean and modern. All the staff were friendly, talkative and helpful. Breakfast espeacially was brillaint. Would deffinitaly go back.

Reviewer:Matthew S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 4 days ago


Great hotel, great hosts - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This hotel is in a great location, the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the hosts really helpful. I was unable to have the full breakfast as I was leaving very early in the morning but the hosts offered to leave out a continental breakfast for me to have or take with me - a really nice touch which added to the 'make yourself at home' warm welcome I received on arrival. Considering all this, the price of the room was really good value. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewer:Ben T | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 4 days ago


another great visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple of days - the new owners run a great B&B - we'll be back (again!)

Reviewer:Peter D | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 6 days ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked.Pleasant stay comfortable bedrooms. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Maureen M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 week ago


Properly looked after - Rating 5/5

100% satisfied...................!

Response

Thank you Alec!Gilly x

Reviewer:Alec S | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 week ago


Warm Friendly Island Welcome - Rating 5/5

Brilliant gem in the centre of Shanklin Old Village. Lovely establishment with immaculate rooms. Added bonus was the red squirrels enjoying their breakfast in the garden outside the main breakfast room. Would highly recommend and I wish I had found it sooner

Reviewer:Anne W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 week ago


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Bedford Lodge a few times now and every time has been exceptional!This year there were new owners - Gilly and Gary who were fantastic!Nothing was too much trouble.It was my partner - Steve's - 60th birthday whilst we were there and they decorated our breakfast table and Gilly even made him a chocolate (which was unbelievably tasty).We will be staying again next August Bank Holiday as we come down with a crowd of friends for the scooter rally.Would highly recommend!Thank you Gilly and Gary. xx

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, Ros! I was good to meet you at last! It was great fun organising the Birthday celabration for Steve! looking forward to seeing you next year!Gilly x

Reviewer:Mrs R T | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 week ago


Bedford lodge vacation - Rating 5/5

Will not stay anywhere else on the island unless you close down , and don't think that's on the cards , so our custom is yours . Could not make us feel any more welcome than you did . All perfect ...thankyou ps the new bar is an extra bonus!!

Response

We don\'t plan on going anywhere for many years! It was a pleasure having you both stay again! Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:LANGTON u | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 3 weeks ago


The most wonderful place to stay !!!! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Bedford Lodge many times and each time is so special, beautiful grounds, clean comfortable lovely rooms, great breakfasts, and to top it all the new owners Jilly and Gary are wonderful !!!!....we fully recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay on The Isle of Wight to look no further, this place is a real joy !!!!....

Response

Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to meet you both! And the lovely Bessie and Bertie! x

Reviewer:SMITH Richard & | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 4 weeks ago


A good find - Rating 5/5

A comfortable stay in a friendly place. A warm welcome when we arrived, nicely appointed rooms, splendid breakfast. The honesty bar is a nice touch.

Reviewer:Philip L | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 month ago


Short July break - Rating 5/5

The hotel is well situated in the old part of the town. It is very relaxing and the stay was most enjoyable. The stroll down to the beach is easy but the walk back takes a little effort. But I can handle it without any trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs G R | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Our stay at Bedford lodge- Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable stay and made to feel very welcome.Our room was comfortable and had a good view over the garden.A very good choice of breakfast both hot and cold. We look forward to our next visit to Bedford lodge

Reviewer:J | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent hotel and hosts - Rating 5/5

The hosts Gilly and Gary have only been at the hotel for a couple of months and they are very welcoming and make you feel at home . It is a very relaxed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is situated in a lovely position by Shanklin chine and is close to local shops and restaurants. Gilly also arranged the ferry crossing for us too, which was a great help. Would highly recommend the Bedford Lodge. We wish them all the best in their new new venture.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Rest After the IOW Fest - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay very friendly owners and staff.

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


Bedford lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A perfect stay, comfortable, clean and friendly. With bus stops within two minutes walk exploring the island is on the doorstep.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:theresa A | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 2 months ago


A short break to relax - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed staying here in the relaxed surroundings, and comfortable house. Very helpful owners, and generous breakfasts on offer. The sunny terrace is lovely for a tea/coffee. Handy location.

Reviewer:Margaret D | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 4 months ago


Our visit to the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time but four things were a dissapointment St Catherines lighthouse was shut, The steam trains were not running, Crab pasties were not available on Tuesday and we didn't see a red squirrel SO we may be back. Always a silver lining!!

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 16th May 2018 | 4 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat