Reviews

What people are saying about Bedford Lodge




Weekend break - Rating 5/5

First visit to Bedford Lodge. We found it very welcoming. The whole place felt very homely. The breakfast was lovely. We will certainly be coming back again.

Reviewer:Tina W | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Autumn week away - Rating 5/5

Excellent location Owners very friendly and hospitable Very good breakfast - even catered for our dog!

Reviewer:M | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


Peter Rothwell- Rating 5/5

An excellent stay as usual ,Gilly is so helpful and nothing too much trouble . LovelyBreakfast and a real home from home feeling ,and always my first choice when I’m visiting the island .

Reviewer:Peter R | Thu 21st Nov 2019 | 1 week ago


What a terrific find! - Rating 5/5

I'm a regular visitor to the Island but this was my first stay at Bedford Lodge - but definitely won't be my last! Simply, I couldn't fault it. Location excellent, would suit anyone travelling by public transport as well as car, felt very safe as a single female, very clean and comfortable room and the welcome couldn't have been friendlier.

Reviewer:Lesley B | Mon 18th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely break at the Bedford Lodge. Everything was very clean and tidy. Good, quiet location although still close to pubs and eateries.Lovely hosts who made us very welcome

Reviewer:Andy B | Sun 17th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Autumn short break - Rating 4/5

Friendly, well run bed and wonderful breakfast guest house.

Reviewer:Margaret P | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


A fantastic Guest House in the heart of Shanklin- Rating 5/5

The Bedford Lodge is a warm and welcoming Guest House with a lovely garden. Gilly and Gary are wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. The breakfasts cooked by Gary are absolutely superb with a fantastic choice to set you up for the day! The room was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay immensely. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family. Thanks Gilly for your amazing hospitality! Chris &Jade

Response

Thank you for your kind words!It was lovely meeting you both. Cookie says \'hello!!\'haha!!

Reviewer:Chris W | Fri 18th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Bedford Lodge,Shanklin,Isle Of Wight. - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay.Lovely owners who do everything to make your stay comfortable.Breakfasts are out of this world.The hotel is really clean.Rooms are spotless.

Reviewer:Roger N | Thu 17th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Brilliant as always - Rating 5/5

Our second visit this year and everything first class as ever. Thanks for a great stay

Reviewer:Peter D | Wed 16th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

This little gem in the heart of Shanklin Village is one of the most welcoming places I've stayed at. Jilly and her husband go out of their way to make you feel at home. The breakfast choices are exceptional, and however you have your eggs, they will be perfect. They were so kind to my elderly Mother and helped us with lots of advice re food and sights. The rooms are compact but clean, and have everything you need. I would happily stay here again

Reviewer:Nicky D | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Family w/e gathering- Rating 5/5

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, Gilly &Gary were the perfect hosts. On our arrival we were greeted with afternoon tea &wonderful banana bread. Our rooms were lovely &well supplied with tea &coffee. Breakfast was superb with a extensive menu.Nothing was too much trouble for Gary and Gilly. We will definitely be returning for future family gatherings.

Reviewer:jane w | Tue 8th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Home from home - Rating 5/5

Our second stay at Bedford Lodge was equally as good as our first.Lovely rooms,excellent breakfast and a very warm welcome. A peaceful setting and close to the centre.

Reviewer:Sue H | Thu 3rd Oct 2019 | 2 months ago


MID WEEK BREAK - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hotel, clean and comfortable with excellent breakfast,nothing was too much trouble. Central to all amenities.Will certainly stay again

Reviewer:Mr M D | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Our September getaway- Rating 5/5

Second year in succession of staying here ,and once again it was beautiful.Our hosts Gilly and Gary were as welcoming and helpful as ever,nothing was ever a problem.Our usual room was well prepared and spacious as my wife is disabled it suits us perfectly,and with the addition of Blossom,our pet dog,it too was perfect for her,she loved it.Will definitely be returning next year to the most beautifully quaint hotel.See you next year Gilly????

Reviewer:Nigel H | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Home for home- Rating 5/5

What a welcoming lovely place to say magical x lovely room fantastic breakfast great garden to sit in and hosts are impeccable

Reviewer:Miss Karen C | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Perfection - Rating 5/5

A wonderfully welcoming place with comfort as a priority. Clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, great walk in shower, excellent breakfasts and a delightful host, Gilly. Nothing was too much trouble with lots of nice touches.Would certainly return when visiting the Island. Great value for money.

Reviewer:Anna R | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


A return visit - Rating 5/5

My sixth stay a Bedford Lodge - comfy, clean rooms. Pleasant surroundings and excellent breakfast, hosts really make you feel welcome. I'll be back!

Reviewer:Jim T | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Still brilliant- Rating 5/5

Our third stay with the new owners. Everything first class. The welcome,rooms, food and drink and even the weather too! Thanks very much, see you soon.

Reviewer:Peter D | Wed 18th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Autumn break - Rating 5/5

Little gem tucked away and surrounded by pretty garden. Well looked after by Gilly and staff.

Reviewer:Mrs A | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely week - Rating 5/5

We visit the Isle of Wight every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Gilly and Gary are the perfect hosts. You always feel welcome and they always have time for a chat. Thank you for a great week. See you next year.

Reviewer:Claire & Matt M | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

Our second visit with Gilly and Gary at the helm and again a lovely stay. Very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast offers a wide choice, is good quality and is relaxed.You can come and go as you wish. We will be back

Reviewer:Maureen C | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Very good visit- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome. Lovely room overlooking the garden. Everything was bright, clean and comfortable. Good selection at breakfast in a large open room. Lodge is situated in a central location for the beach, shops and restaurants. Altogether a great stay and would definitely visit again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Marylin Y | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


bedford lodge - Rating 5/5

We always enjoy our stay at Bedford Lodge.The new ownersGilly &Gary although not been there very long make you feel very welcome.Lovely cooked breakfast.Also willing to make uour stay relaxed tea/cake when arrive.Lovely gdn to sit in too.Lift to rail station a little extra lift appreciated.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Two friends , sisters in law - Rating 5/5

Carol Vittles was unable to come.However l, Carole New did make it.my sister in law joined me.lhave visited many times before. Not only has the standard been maintained but has been surpassed.My sister in law was very impressed.Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Carol V | Wed 11th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent b&b in picturesque location - Rating 5/5

Meant to write this sooner! I enjoyed another lovely stay at The Bedford Lodge (my 3rd) where I have always been v comfortable as a single female traveller. Their single rooms(or rather double for single occupancy) are also very reasonably priced..not always the case for solo travellers! This b&b is immaculately clean, breakfasts generous with huge choice, hosts friendly and helpful and situation in heart of old village unbeatable. BTW I have a paperback of yours that I'll return on my next visit!

Reviewer:Denise P | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Thankyou for a fabulous few days our room was lovely couldn't fault anything great location breakfast gorgeous definitely be back so glad we came to stay.

Reviewer:Lyn & Stuart B | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Third visit to Bedford Lodge with a 4th already booked. Comfortable roomesm great breakfast and friendly staff! Gilly, Garry and Linda ( along with everyone else) are brilliant hosts!Look forward to my next visit!

Response

Thanks for the lovely review! And the 5/5! Looking forward to seeing you all again next year!Best WishesGilly

Reviewer:P | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Wonderful accommodation in the heart of the Old Village in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Our hosts were brilliant in making us feel welcome and the breakfasts absolutely delicious. Accommodation was really comfortable and situated ideally for walking to pubs and restaurants in the heart of the Old Towm in Shanklin.Gardens a delight especially at night with all the lights on. Would certainly recommend staying but request ground floor room if mobility issues.

Reviewer:Wendy D | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Always a pleasure- Rating 5/5

What can I say, this hotel offers the best location in Shanklin, spacious rooms, clean, comfortable, this is always my first port of call when staying on the island, Gilly and Gary are the perfect hosts, and you won't be disappointed with the breakfast either, totally recommended this amazing establishment, thank you guys we will be back

Reviewer:Graham T | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Highly recommended with biggest welcome - Rating 5/5

On arrival my wife and I were met by the loveliest and most welcoming couple (Gilly &Gary) I have ever met, nothing was too much effort and the food, i.e. breakfast was excellent. The room was large enough, clean and bright, it was perfect. I would recommend this venue to anyone, even afternoon tea was provided.

Reviewer:Chris S | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 3 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 4/5

We have had four very enjoyabel stays at Bedford lodge over the years - thanks to Gilly and team for a lovely time.

Reviewer:Dave R | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


just the best - Rating 5/5

The BEDFORD LODGE came as a recommendation from a friend, all true, fantastic breakfast wonderful room, lovely owner and staff, perfectly situated for fabulous beaches and getting to everything..we booked for a longer stay next year before we left this year..awesome

Response

Thank you Sue for a lovely review! Such kind words! Already looking forward to seeing you next August!Gilly x

Reviewer:Sue P | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and comfortable stay. The breakfast was probably one of the best we have had. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Theresa H | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Home from Home. - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Bedford Lodge, and would defiantly stay there again, breakfast was anything you could want and more, very friendly welcoming people, the home was exceptionally clean.

Reviewer:Diane L | Fri 16th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

We were on holiday and stayed at the Bedford Lodge for 3 nights;Gary &Gilly were brilliant hosts. They were friendly, attentive and provided excellent accommodation of a very high standard. The location was ideal, the garden was so beautiful and peaceful that we spent one afternoon sitting there with friends. Gilly made us coffee and we had drinks from the bar too!The breakfast was of a very high standard with as much tea and toast as you wanted. We would certainly recommend a stay at the Bedford Lodge for your holiday. We will definately go again.

Reviewer:Pam A | Wed 7th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Comfortable stay and friendly service - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I've stay and again had a fabulous stay, the room was comfortable and service friendly as usual. Shame I wasn't able to enjoy the breakfast on offer this time but will the next.

Reviewer:Rachelle C | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


A Most Enjoyable Break - Rating 5/5

We came to the Isle of Wight for the first time and we were so pleased to be based in a homely, comfortable and private location such as Bedford Lodge.Gillian was warm and welcoming and we had a great couple of days with her. Breakfast was great and we were ready for the day's activities. We will definitely return to this location again soon. I would recommend Bedford Lodge to other travellers.

Reviewer:Keith B | Sun 4th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


best in shanklin - Rating 5/5

Thank you, Jilly &Gary for another outstanding nine days at your wonderful Bed &Breakfast. first class treatment as always. Room clean and tidy with extra things bottle water, tissues &toiletries. Breakfast amazing cooked to perfection. Already looking forward to next year

Reviewer:John & Karen H | Fri 2nd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We decided to pop over to the Isle of Wight for a long weekend and having stayed at the Bedford Lodge before it was an easy decision to return there. Although there has been a recent change in ownership, the hotel is still a fantastic place to stay, welcoming, friendly with a great atmosphere. The rooms are comfortable and clean breakfast is excellent and location is fantastic! Thank you Gilly and Gary for a brilliant time and hopefully see you again in the near future!

Reviewer:Kevin S | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Latest stay! - Rating 5/5

Perfect as always.Thankyou Gilly an Gary!

Response

See you again in 3 weeks Sara!! :)

Reviewer:Sara M | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Linda and David Cotton- Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable stay at Bedford Lodge food fanastic the rooms very clean the staff could'nt do enough for us and the owners so friendly we were there with our daughter and her husband we were very pleased and would be returning thank you for making our stay so enjoyable Linda and David

Reviewer:Linda P | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


A Super Stay - Rating 5/5

As returning guests, we were again greeted with a sincere welcome by owners Gilly and Gary. We had a double en-suite room in this characterful, peaceful and superbly located lodge. Had every need accommodated from drinks tray to toiletries. The room remained cool and very comfortable during the record-breaking temperatures, with views over the cottage garden. The Breakfast offering was a real treat with everything from fresh fruits to a full English, from locally sourced fayre and everything in between including gluten free options all served attentively. We were very sad to leave and look forward to returning, but in the meantime can thoroughly recommend this B &B .

Response

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words!See you again soon.Gilly x

Reviewer:C R | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Delightful place to stay - Rating 5/5

My first visit to the Bedford Lodge and it won't be my last! Warm welcome from the owners who couldn't do enough for you to make sure your stay was enjoyable.Absolutely delightful!

Reviewer:Barbara b | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Fantastic B & B - Rating 5/5

We have just come back from staying here for a fantastic 5 nights. We had a great room &it was very comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing &lovelyGilly &the lovely lady (sorry we did not get your name) who looked after us were very attentive. Thankyou to Gary who cooked the food, sorry we did not get chance to say Thankyou in person. We will definately stay here again if we came back to the Isle of Wight &would definately recommend to family &friends. Thankyou Gilly &Gary for making us feel so welcome.

Reviewer:Grant S | Wed 24th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


HolidayJuly2019 - Rating 5/5

Bedford Lodge is like your own home Very friendly and excellent staff.Gilly and Gary are excellent .Helpful from minute arrive to leave Really enjoyable holiday

Reviewer:Paul & Heather T | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Recommended Bed and Breakfast- Rating 5/5

A delight to stay in. Really friendly and helpful people. . Bedford Lodge is well maintained. You get a well cooked English breakfast and a good selection of other food should you wish. All rooms are individual and clean. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs Helen M | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

My family had an excellent stay at Bedford Lodge. The rooms were very comfortable- bathrooms modern and spotless and breakfast v good quality. Golly couldn’t do enough for us. Def stay again

Reviewer:Lynne B | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Holiday review - Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay, so clean and welcoming, breakfast selection is superb, location is ideal within the village setting, have stayed here for the past 6 years and cannot wait to return, would recommend to everyone. Gilly and Gary are doing a marvellous job.

Reviewer:Kim B | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


The best B&B we\'ve ever stayed at.- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful break, the room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was amazing. Staff and owner couldn't do enough for us. Situated right in the centre of Shanklin. We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Dermot b | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Short stay- Rating 5/5

Just had a two night stay at the Bedford Lodge and could only wish it was a lot longer. Very welcoming great rooms and a fantastic breakfast and superb surroundings, can’t wait to return.

Reviewer:Ray F | Sat 13th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Bedford lodge - Rating 4/5

Lovely overnight stay , perfect location &accomodation , beds were comfortable very clean &breakfast was good !

Reviewer:Jackie P | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

Made most welcome very enjoyable stay.Always enjoy.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent in all respects - Rating 5/5

Charming accommodation and very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Lovely garden and areas to sit and comfortable lounge area too. Everything available - make you feel very much at home. Couldn't be better.

Reviewer:Rodney and Ann F | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Isle of Wight encounter - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed an excellent 4 night break at Bedford Lodge. Comfortable room and generous hospitality. A great base from which to explore the island.

Reviewer:Tim P | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


The best yet - Rating 5/5

Stayed at a number of places on the Island whilst working their and this has been by far my favourite. Made to feel very welcome, nice rooms, nice owners and in what I feel is a great location. I will be back

Reviewer:edward I | Tue 9th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


wonderful - Rating 5/5

great place to stay- location perfect--will definitely stay there again

Reviewer:Jim C | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent break at Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable time in this wonderful friendly lodge. Great situation in the old village. The owners and staff were exceptional always going the extra mile yet maintaining your privacy and personal space. Breakfasts were plentiful with a wide choice. We would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Rosemary M | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 5 months ago


Bedford Lodge Review - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Lodge for 4 nights - mid June. Made very welcome from the time we arrived to when we left. Lovely comfortable room on the ground floor overlooking the garden. Breakfast was excellent and varied.This was our second visit and looking forward to our third. Would strongly recommend Bedford Lodge to others.

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs N | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Break away. - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay Bedford Lodge, from first arriving to leaving, our hosts were very friendly and welcoming.The lodge was comfortable, clean, and homely!The breakfast was really good!....and cooked well!We would defiantly stay there again!!! Xxx

Reviewer:Deborah L | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Could not have been made more welcome - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a few days as a family to celebrate our Mum's 96th birthday. The Bedford Lodge provided the perfect venue;Gilly was the perfect host, making us all most welcome and making Mum feel very special

Reviewer:Michael N | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely B&B! - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time here! Gilly gave us a very warm welcome and we were well looked after during our stay :) The hotel has a very homely feel and is very well-situated, just off Shanklin High Street. I would thoroughly recommend others to stay here too! Thank you for a lovely trip.

Reviewer:Sarah H | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


We found a little gem- Rating 5/5

I have stayed on the Isle of Wight lots of times but The Bedford Lodge was the best place I have stayed at. The location was perfect for us right in the centre of Shanklin. Our room (7) was very comfortable and had everything we needed. A lovely breakfast with plenty of choice was available every morning. Gilly and all the staff were excellent. A very friendly and relaxed atmosphere made for a great stay. We love coming to Shanklin and now have found an excellent place to stay. We will definitely be back. 😊

Reviewer:Charlie M | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Motorbike ride of the island- Rating 5/5

Stayed very briefly for one night. Beautiful venue with a lovely host.

Reviewer:Jamie S | Wed 19th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


IOWWeekend - Rating 5/5

Excellent 3days ,accommation exceeded our expectations,Breakfast perfect and service first classWe valued the advice given regarding places to see which definitely enhanced our first visit to the island

Reviewer:Derek A | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Hosts were very welcoming and accommodated my need for an earlier breakfast. Very clean and beautiful surroundings with the added bonus of a lovely garden to relax in as well as a snug if feeling a bit chilly. Nice and quiet in the evening enabling a good nights sleep.

Reviewer:Susan M | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Pleasantsurprise- Rating 5/5

My wife &Ion a return visithome from emigrating to USA were pleasantly surprised with our stay here at Bedford Lodge on IOW in Shanklin Old Village.We are so delighted to of found the perfect B &B for our regrettably short 2 night stay.Gilly, Gary &their team were just wonderful, even arranging our Ferry Passage from England.Were also most helpful with local info. Clean, homely, comfortable, pleasant garden setting located in great central location convenient walking distance to “Shanklin chine” and village restraints.Would thoroughly recommend a stay loved it + the Isle ofwhite.Linda &John Rogers of NCarolina.

Reviewer:John & Linda R | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Hotel on the Isle of Wight a fantastic hotel great reception room was a disabled room and was very well adapted awners and staff very attentive even though very busy very recommendable ideal stop on a two day trip around the island we look forward to staying again

Reviewer:Pauline P | Fri 7th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Bedford Lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A truly lovely place to stay and brilliantly situated for almost all of what Shanklind has to offer.Gilly and Gary make excellent hosts and we would definitely come and stay here again.Plus,the garden is beautiful and very peaceful - a wonderful place to just sit and look around you.I would give you 4.5 our of five but only because nobody is perfect!

Reviewer:John M | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


An overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your warm and enthusiastic welcome.We were comfortable in our room and the breakfast was well cooked and tasty.We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Reviewer:Karin C | Fri 31st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

The host are terrific the room beautiful location superb and breakfast lovely cannot fault it x

Reviewer:Miss Karen C | Tue 28th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Exeptional! - Rating 5/5

An amazing Wedding/"Mini-moon"week,greatly enhanced by our stay at Bedford Lodge.Gilly &Gary made our stay an absolute pleasure. Idyllic location,spacious,clean &comfortable rooms &excellent breakfast (locally sourced).It is clear that this &numerous other glowing reviews are a result of Gilly &Gary's hard work &attention to detail .... Bless you both! We look forward to our next stay!

Response

It was lovely to meet you both, and a privilege to be part of your special day! See you for the anniversary!

Reviewer:Adrian & Louise B | Mon 27th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Bedford Lodge.Great location, comfortable rooms, charming hosts and staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Lucio M | Sun 26th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Our stay in May - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay as always. That’s why we keep coming back! Thanks very much for looking after us 😃

Reviewer:Rena G | Sat 25th May 2019 | 6 months ago


quiet but central location - Rating 5/5

Nice, friendly place in a central location.

Reviewer:Lucinda W | Tue 21st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Grave visit - Rating 5/5

Just as pleased this year as we were when we stayed in 2018. Very friendly, will do anything for you, good food, spotless rooms, very comfortable. Please make sure there is a place for us when we come back next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. it was a pleasure to see you both again. Same time next year?!:)

Reviewer:Mr Malcolm O | Fri 17th May 2019 | 6 months ago


A very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We picked the Bedford lodge based on reviews and location, the reviews were very true and the location ideal, quiet and yet close to transportation. We should also mention the generous breakfast and the kind landlords.One piece of advice, if you are like me tall and heavy treat yourself and pick a regular or a large room, small means small.

Reviewer:Jean-Francois G | Wed 15th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent wekend break - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at the Bedford Lodge. The hosts were very good, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and our room very nice really clean, lots of facilities like fans , hotwater bottles if needed. If we stayed in shanklin again would definetly choose the Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:IAN P | Tue 14th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Warmest of welcomes - Rating 5/5

Lovely trip to the Isle of Wight for a birthday treat (albeit brief). Made all the more special by Gilly's warm welcome at Bedford Lodge. Slightly old fashioned style, but with its own charm and oh so comfortable. And the breakfast is anything you could wish for...

Reviewer:Joy F | Mon 13th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Fantastic Place, amazing character and even better service - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Character, lovely rooms and really friendly serviceCentral location with parking available. It's a real boutique style that makes you feel comfortable to hang around the communal areas and chat. The rooms are clean and brilliantly presented. I was with a party of three and each room had it's own style. Its little touches like having a socket near the bed to charge phones overnight, a kettle that doesn't take 30 mins to boil and plenty of tea/coffee/milk that make the difference.The breakfast was very well cooked, serving from 8:30 till 10, although there is no rush to get out. Gilly, the owner was really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help.It's safe to say we will definitely go again

Reviewer:Glenn D | Sat 11th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Had a wonderfully comfortable sleep and woke up to a well cooked full English breakfast.Hosts very warm and hospitable.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Edwina N | Sat 11th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Very Happy Stay - Rating 5/5

We have travelled the world, many areas of the UK. But have stayed in accommodation which as been first class, and the Bedford Lodge has matched all of these. So when we return it's the Bedford Lodge for us. Thank you Gilly and Gary, you hit the Bulls Eye.

Reviewer:ronald l | Thu 9th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful B & B - Rating 5/5

Love staying at the Bedford Lodge, Gilly &Gary are fabulous hosts who go out if their way to make you feel welcome.Our room was beautiful, it opened out on to the terrace,perfect to sit with an early morning cuppa to watch for the red squirrels. Recommend starting the day with the locally sourced Full English breakfast, delicious. Will be back very soon xx

Reviewer:Michelle B | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Pre Easter break - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Bedford Lodge on several occasions in the recent past. That in itself says a good deal. It is friendly, well run, set in a large garden and there is a lovely lounge. The patio faces south. The old village of Shanklin has plenty of good places to eat and an excellent traditional theatre. The walk to the beach involves a climb back up hill but it's not too bad. We can manage it!

Reviewer:Mrs R | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great stay, great people and excellent venue - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Bedford Lodge for two nights and must say it was an excellent experience from start to finish...Rooms immaculate, spotless clean and rooms very fresh, the owners are lovely, warm and friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast extremely good, had poached eggs on brown toast and it was just right.would, am going to stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to a friend! A little hidden gem😊 keep up the good work Gary and Ginny and see you very soon! Paul H

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A pleasure from start to finish and excellent value for money... - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Bedford Lodge for two nights and must say it was an excellent experience from start to finish...Rooms immaculate, spotless clean and rooms very fresh, the owners are lovely, warm and friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast extremely good, had poached eggs on brown toast and it was just right.would, am going to stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to a friend! A little hidden gem😊 keep up the good work Gary and Ginny and see you very soon! Paul H

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

Gilly &Gary are very welcoming and are wonderful hosts. Having breakfast still available until 10am is a bonus. Lovely setting, too. I have been coming here for 12 years and is always my first choice of hotel.

Response

It was good to see you again, Mike. Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you again later in the year.Gilly

Reviewer:Mike B | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent B&B.- Rating 5/5

Everything we could have needed on our break. Wonderful breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble. Hoping to come back in the near future.

Reviewer:John A | Wed 13th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


A lovely weekend break- Rating 5/5

Another stay at the Bedford Lodge enjoying the friendly hospitality of Gilly and Gary. Always a very warm and homely feeling to the place as well as excellent breakfasts.

Reviewer:Gordon T | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


1 x night stay- Rating 5/5

A pleasure as always. Made to feel very welcome, a kind of home from home feeling.Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Simon O | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 9 months ago


5 Stars - Rating 5/5

Bedford Lodge has everything you could ask for in a hotel.Ideal position, lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a friendly atmosphere.Gilly and Gary are perfect hosts.

Response

Lovely review - thank you Sarah. It was lovely to see you again.Gillyx

Reviewer:Sara M | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


One night stand - Rating 5/5

We travelled over for just the one night and left wishing we could have stayed a week.Gilly was an excellent host and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable and would recommend it to all my friends.Great location and no taxis required for dinner and drinks in the evening. Breakfast was first class.We shall certainly be back again.Big thank you to Gilly and GaryChris and Jacks

Response

Lovely review! Thank you. It was nice to meet you both, hope you come back soon!Gilly

Reviewer:Chris R | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely place- Rating 5/5

Room lovely,clean and everything looks new and shiny. Bed and bedding ultra comfy! Bathroom spotless.Dining area very pretty.Hosts are so friendly.Breakfast delicious.One little suggestion..make directions to the lodge a little clearer.Thanks for your hospitality Gilly. Best wishes for the coming season.

Response

Thank you, Amanda.

Reviewer:Amanda p | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 10 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Gilly and her husband were very friendly hosts. The cooked breafast kept me going till evening. Although out of season shanklin still has a lot to offer and the hotel is situated 5 minute walk to the seafront and a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants. A very comfortable stay so I highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Ashley D | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Sincere recommendation. - Rating 5/5

The kindness and consideration shown by our hosts was magnificent.The accommodation was very good as was the breakfast.I can thoroughly recommend The Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:Stephen L | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Sincere recommendation. - Rating 5/5

The kindness and consideration shown by our hosts was magnificent.The accommodation was very good as was the breakfast.I can thoroughly recommend The Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:Stephen L | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Would most certainly recommend- Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay with wonderful attention from owners. Always there for any requirements. Very comfortable room. Would definitely recommend and will most certainly use them again when next visiting the Island

Reviewer:John S | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We will definitely be back, perfect hosts, comfy beds, great breakfast, can't fault it.

Response

Thank you Christine! Lovely to meet you all! Especially when you first arrived! Most entertaining! Hope to see you again.Gilly x

Reviewer:Christine B | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

I can’t recommend the Bedford Lodge enough - both Gilly &Gary are amazing hosts who do their utmost to make your stay a perfect one! Nothing is too much trouble &the breakfasts are fabulous - the emphasis is on a leisurely, relaxed atmosphere with views across the beautiful garden - and the islands red squirrels if you’re as lucky as we were!I can’t thank Gilly &Gary enough for making our trip with our parents so memorable &will most definitely be back very soon!

Response

Thank you for your kind words, Sally! It was a pleasure to meet you all! Alex has a wicked sense of humour!Looking forward to your next visit.Gilly x

Reviewer:Sally L | Mon 26th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Lodge there was 4 of us booked 2 rooms both of which were very comfortable. Was given a lovely welcome by Gilly on arrival and was very well looked after. The breakfast every morning was superb cooked to order many thanks to Gary, 'The King Of The Kitchen' and also Linda who served us every morning always with a smile and couldn't do enough for you. Parking was great as well. We stayed for a weekend in October and would certainly recommend the Bedford Lodge in Shanklin and would definately book there again. Much appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr P F | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Our Best stay while on holiday - Rating 5/5

I would rate our stay 5 stars!100% happy. Exceptional breakfast, cleanliness, Amazing hosts, Comfortable in one of the best settings and garden, parking and short walk into the most beautiful Village of Shanklin. Thank you soooo much for your hospitality we shall be back 🤗

Reviewer:Merylin G | Sat 27th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Top notch in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Greeted very warmly by Gary and Jilly, the perfect hosts. This is The place to stay in Shanklin, perfect in every way. Very comfortable rooms, beautiful lounge to relax in and superb breakfast. Lovely location.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, Sue. It was lovely to meet you all. Thanks again for inviting us to the concert - it was a brilliant show! We are huge fans now! Hope Albert\'s graze healed OK?

Reviewer:Sue H | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Excellent hosts. Excellent location. Excellent room

Reviewer:Andy H | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Bedford lodge stay- Rating 4/5

We had a very nice stay with Gilly &Gary, the hotel was very good also the food. We will be going back Beryl &Paul

Reviewer:Beryl M | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


B&B - Rating 5/5

Very satisfied with my stay here - staff very friendly and pleasant

Reviewer:Steven D | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Karl&PaulineJobes - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous 4 night break, it was like home from home,Gilly&Garry were so welcoming &nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic &great choice,will certainly be going back again.

Reviewer:Karl J | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A little gem... - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, quirky, friendly and perfectly located to enjoy Shanklin's stunning seafront!

Reviewer:Michael M | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Isle Of Wights Gem - Rating 5/5

An absolutely fantastic hotel in a great locationGilly and Gary are awesome hosts and so welcoming and all the staff are fantasticI have been before and will definitely be coming again.

Reviewer:Mark W | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Bedford- Rating 5/5

The past stay was my18th four night break, 3rd as a couple, and was just as enjoyable and relaxing asall the previous times at the Bedford.We look forward to our next stay with you and your excellent staff.

Response

Thank you for a lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Reviewer:C | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Bedford Lodge - Rating 4/5

We found the place was well maintained and clean.Gilly and her husband were friendly and welcoming.They and the staff tried to do everything to make sure our needs were met.Excellent location.The only thing that bothered us was the size of room when we had specifically paid more for a large room and were allocated a small room.

Reviewer:Varsha P | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Superb b&b in shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B. Tremendous breakfast. Lovely welcoming owners and staff. Woyld highly recommend.

Reviewer:Barry g | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Having used this hotel on quite a few occasions over the years,i am never disappointed.Ideal location, very comfortable,friendly,lovely gardens and the ideal place to relax for that much needed getaway.Love Room 11.

Reviewer:Derek S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Beautiful building, amazing breakfast, lovely rooms and Gilly &Gary can't do enough for their guests.

Reviewer:Christine R | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mini Break on The Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our mini break at The Bedford Lodge, great position in the centre of Old Shanklin,Gilly and Gary so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, rooms really comfortable and lovely breakfast ( Omelettes yummy ) highly recommend to anyone .

Reviewer:Jacqueline G | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Linda & Charley- Rating 5/5

Always made to feel welcome.Well looked after.Clean rooms well stocked tea/coffee each day.Friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely, clean and very accommodating- Rating 5/5

I checked in very late at night but Gilly had left a helpful welcome note for me. Room was clean, comfy and compact. I had to check out early, and she kindly left me some delicious croissants, fruit (sorry i didn't havd time to eat it!) and even some soya milk which I had requested.Thanks for having me!

Response

You are very welcome Charly! Thanks for a nice review! Sorry we never met - maybe next time!Gilly

Reviewer:Charly W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay at Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for a week at the Bedford Lodge hotel, the owners Gilly &Gary were warm friendly and approachable.The breakfast was excellent with a good choice on the menu.The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is set in lovely surroundings.We thourougly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr A G | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to book the Lodge fairly last minuite. Not knowing what to expect we found that the whole place was very presented and quite homely, the room itself was brillaint and quite clean and modern. All the staff were friendly, talkative and helpful. Breakfast espeacially was brillaint. Would deffinitaly go back.

Reviewer:Matthew S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great hotel, great hosts - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This hotel is in a great location, the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the hosts really helpful. I was unable to have the full breakfast as I was leaving very early in the morning but the hosts offered to leave out a continental breakfast for me to have or take with me - a really nice touch which added to the 'make yourself at home' warm welcome I received on arrival. Considering all this, the price of the room was really good value. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewer:Ben T | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


another great visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple of days - the new owners run a great B&B - we'll be back (again!)

Reviewer:Peter D | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked.Pleasant stay comfortable bedrooms. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Maureen M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Properly looked after - Rating 5/5

100% satisfied...................!

Response

Thank you Alec!Gilly x

Reviewer:Alec S | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Warm Friendly Island Welcome - Rating 5/5

Brilliant gem in the centre of Shanklin Old Village. Lovely establishment with immaculate rooms. Added bonus was the red squirrels enjoying their breakfast in the garden outside the main breakfast room. Would highly recommend and I wish I had found it sooner

Reviewer:Anne W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Bedford Lodge a few times now and every time has been exceptional!This year there were new owners - Gilly and Gary who were fantastic!Nothing was too much trouble.It was my partner - Steve's - 60th birthday whilst we were there and they decorated our breakfast table and Gilly even made him a chocolate (which was unbelievably tasty).We will be staying again next August Bank Holiday as we come down with a crowd of friends for the scooter rally.Would highly recommend!Thank you Gilly and Gary. xx

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, Ros! I was good to meet you at last! It was great fun organising the Birthday celabration for Steve! looking forward to seeing you next year!Gilly x

Reviewer:Mrs R T | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Bedford lodge vacation - Rating 5/5

Will not stay anywhere else on the island unless you close down , and don't think that's on the cards , so our custom is yours . Could not make us feel any more welcome than you did . All perfect ...thankyou ps the new bar is an extra bonus!!

Response

We don\'t plan on going anywhere for many years! It was a pleasure having you both stay again! Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:LANGTON u | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


The most wonderful place to stay !!!! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Bedford Lodge many times and each time is so special, beautiful grounds, clean comfortable lovely rooms, great breakfasts, and to top it all the new owners Jilly and Gary are wonderful !!!!....we fully recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay on The Isle of Wight to look no further, this place is a real joy !!!!....

Response

Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to meet you both! And the lovely Bessie and Bertie! x

Reviewer:SMITH Richard & | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


A good find - Rating 5/5

A comfortable stay in a friendly place. A warm welcome when we arrived, nicely appointed rooms, splendid breakfast. The honesty bar is a nice touch.

Reviewer:Philip L | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Short July break - Rating 5/5

The hotel is well situated in the old part of the town. It is very relaxing and the stay was most enjoyable. The stroll down to the beach is easy but the walk back takes a little effort. But I can handle it without any trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs G R | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Our stay at Bedford lodge- Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable stay and made to feel very welcome.Our room was comfortable and had a good view over the garden.A very good choice of breakfast both hot and cold. We look forward to our next visit to Bedford lodge

Reviewer:J | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent hotel and hosts - Rating 5/5

The hosts Gilly and Gary have only been at the hotel for a couple of months and they are very welcoming and make you feel at home . It is a very relaxed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is situated in a lovely position by Shanklin chine and is close to local shops and restaurants. Gilly also arranged the ferry crossing for us too, which was a great help. Would highly recommend the Bedford Lodge. We wish them all the best in their new new venture.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place to stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B in a good location for lovely pubs and tea rooms. Staff at the B&B were very friendly. The breakfast was fantastic, lots of choices. Our room was on the top floor and the only criticism was that it was far too hot up there, definitely needed a fan in the room, and also the bed was very creeky, needs attention. Other than that we had a lovely stay. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tony B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Rest After the IOW Fest - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay very friendly owners and staff.

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Bedford lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A perfect stay, comfortable, clean and friendly. With bus stops within two minutes walk exploring the island is on the doorstep.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:theresa A | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


A short break to relax - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed staying here in the relaxed surroundings, and comfortable house. Very helpful owners, and generous breakfasts on offer. The sunny terrace is lovely for a tea/coffee. Handy location.

Reviewer:Margaret D | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 1 year ago


Our visit to the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time but four things were a dissapointment St Catherines lighthouse was shut, The steam trains were not running, Crab pasties were not available on Tuesday and we didn't see a red squirrel SO we may be back. Always a silver lining!!

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat