Reviews

What people are saying about Bedford Lodge




Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Lodge there was 4 of us booked 2 rooms both of which were very comfortable. Was given a lovely welcome by Gilly on arrival and was very well looked after. The breakfast every morning was superb cooked to order many thanks to Gary, 'The King Of The Kitchen' and also Linda who served us every morning always with a smile and couldn't do enough for you. Parking was great as well. We stayed for a weekend in October and would certainly recommend the Bedford Lodge in Shanklin and would definately book there again. Much appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr P F | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 week ago


Our Best stay while on holiday - Rating 5/5

I would rate our stay 5 stars!100% happy. Exceptional breakfast, cleanliness, Amazing hosts, Comfortable in one of the best settings and garden, parking and short walk into the most beautiful Village of Shanklin. Thank you soooo much for your hospitality we shall be back 🤗

Reviewer:Merylin G | Sat 27th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Top notch in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Greeted very warmly by Gary and Jilly, the perfect hosts. This is The place to stay in Shanklin, perfect in every way. Very comfortable rooms, beautiful lounge to relax in and superb breakfast. Lovely location.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, Sue. It was lovely to meet you all. Thanks again for inviting us to the concert - it was a brilliant show! We are huge fans now! Hope Albert\'s graze healed OK?

Reviewer:Sue H | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Excellent hosts. Excellent location. Excellent room

Reviewer:Andy H | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Bedford lodge stay- Rating 4/5

We had a very nice stay with Gilly & Gary, the hotel was very good also the food. We will be going back Beryl & Paul

Reviewer:Beryl M | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


B&B - Rating 5/5

Very satisfied with my stay here - staff very friendly and pleasant

Reviewer:Steven D | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Karl&PaulineJobes - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous 4 night break, it was like home from home,Gilly& Garry were so welcoming & nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic & great choice,will certainly be going back again.

Reviewer:Karl J | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


A little gem... - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, quirky, friendly and perfectly located to enjoy Shanklin's stunning seafront!

Reviewer:Michael M | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Isle Of Wights Gem - Rating 5/5

An absolutely fantastic hotel in a great locationGilly and Gary are awesome hosts and so welcoming and all the staff are fantasticI have been before and will definitely be coming again.

Reviewer:Mark W | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Bedford- Rating 5/5

The past stay was my18th four night break, 3rd as a couple, and was just as enjoyable and relaxing asall the previous times at the Bedford.We look forward to our next stay with you and your excellent staff.

Response

Thank you for a lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Reviewer:C | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Mini Break on The Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our mini break at The Bedford Lodge, great position in the centre of Old Shanklin,Gilly and Gary so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, rooms really comfortable and lovely breakfast ( Omelettes yummy ) highly recommend to anyone .

Reviewer:Jacqueline G | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Linda & Charley- Rating 5/5

Always made to feel welcome.Well looked after.Clean rooms well stocked tea/coffee each day.Friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely, clean and very accommodating- Rating 5/5

I checked in very late at night but Gilly had left a helpful welcome note for me. Room was clean, comfy and compact. I had to check out early, and she kindly left me some delicious croissants, fruit (sorry i didn't havd time to eat it!) and even some soya milk which I had requested.Thanks for having me!

Response

You are very welcome Charly! Thanks for a nice review! Sorry we never met - maybe next time!Gilly

Reviewer:Charly W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Our stay at Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for a week at the Bedford Lodge hotel, the owners Gilly & Gary were warm friendly and approachable.The breakfast was excellent with a good choice on the menu.The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is set in lovely surroundings.We thourougly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr A G | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to book the Lodge fairly last minuite. Not knowing what to expect we found that the whole place was very presented and quite homely, the room itself was brillaint and quite clean and modern. All the staff were friendly, talkative and helpful. Breakfast espeacially was brillaint. Would deffinitaly go back.

Reviewer:Matthew S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Great hotel, great hosts - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This hotel is in a great location, the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the hosts really helpful. I was unable to have the full breakfast as I was leaving very early in the morning but the hosts offered to leave out a continental breakfast for me to have or take with me - a really nice touch which added to the 'make yourself at home' warm welcome I received on arrival. Considering all this, the price of the room was really good value. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewer:Ben T | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


another great visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple of days - the new owners run a great B& B - we'll be back (again!)

Reviewer:Peter D | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked.Pleasant stay comfortable bedrooms. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Maureen M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Properly looked after - Rating 5/5

100% satisfied...................!

Response

Thank you Alec!Gilly x

Reviewer:Alec S | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Warm Friendly Island Welcome - Rating 5/5

Brilliant gem in the centre of Shanklin Old Village. Lovely establishment with immaculate rooms. Added bonus was the red squirrels enjoying their breakfast in the garden outside the main breakfast room. Would highly recommend and I wish I had found it sooner

Reviewer:Anne W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Bedford Lodge a few times now and every time has been exceptional!This year there were new owners - Gilly and Gary who were fantastic!Nothing was too much trouble.It was my partner - Steve's - 60th birthday whilst we were there and they decorated our breakfast table and Gilly even made him a chocolate (which was unbelievably tasty).We will be staying again next August Bank Holiday as we come down with a crowd of friends for the scooter rally.Would highly recommend!Thank you Gilly and Gary. xx

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, Ros! I was good to meet you at last! It was great fun organising the Birthday celabration for Steve! looking forward to seeing you next year!Gilly x

Reviewer:Mrs R T | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Bedford lodge vacation - Rating 5/5

Will not stay anywhere else on the island unless you close down , and don't think that's on the cards , so our custom is yours . Could not make us feel any more welcome than you did . All perfect ...thankyou ps the new bar is an extra bonus!!

Response

We don\'t plan on going anywhere for many years! It was a pleasure having you both stay again! Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:LANGTON u | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


The most wonderful place to stay !!!! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Bedford Lodge many times and each time is so special, beautiful grounds, clean comfortable lovely rooms, great breakfasts, and to top it all the new owners Jilly and Gary are wonderful !!!!....we fully recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay on The Isle of Wight to look no further, this place is a real joy !!!!....

Response

Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to meet you both! And the lovely Bessie and Bertie! x

Reviewer:SMITH Richard & | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


A good find - Rating 5/5

A comfortable stay in a friendly place. A warm welcome when we arrived, nicely appointed rooms, splendid breakfast. The honesty bar is a nice touch.

Reviewer:Philip L | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Short July break - Rating 5/5

The hotel is well situated in the old part of the town. It is very relaxing and the stay was most enjoyable. The stroll down to the beach is easy but the walk back takes a little effort. But I can handle it without any trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs G R | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Our stay at Bedford lodge- Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable stay and made to feel very welcome.Our room was comfortable and had a good view over the garden.A very good choice of breakfast both hot and cold. We look forward to our next visit to Bedford lodge

Reviewer:J | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent hotel and hosts - Rating 5/5

The hosts Gilly and Gary have only been at the hotel for a couple of months and they are very welcoming and make you feel at home . It is a very relaxed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is situated in a lovely position by Shanklin chine and is close to local shops and restaurants. Gilly also arranged the ferry crossing for us too, which was a great help. Would highly recommend the Bedford Lodge. We wish them all the best in their new new venture.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Rest After the IOW Fest - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay very friendly owners and staff.

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Bedford lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A perfect stay, comfortable, clean and friendly. With bus stops within two minutes walk exploring the island is on the doorstep.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:theresa A | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


A short break to relax - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed staying here in the relaxed surroundings, and comfortable house. Very helpful owners, and generous breakfasts on offer. The sunny terrace is lovely for a tea/coffee. Handy location.

Reviewer:Margaret D | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 5 months ago


Our visit to the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time but four things were a dissapointment St Catherines lighthouse was shut, The steam trains were not running, Crab pasties were not available on Tuesday and we didn't see a red squirrel SO we may be back. Always a silver lining!!

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 16th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat