Reviews

What people are saying about Bedford Lodge




Great stay - Rating 5/5

Hosts were very welcoming and accommodated my need for an earlier breakfast. Very clean and beautiful surroundings with the added bonus of a lovely garden to relax in as well as a snug if feeling a bit chilly. Nice and quiet in the evening enabling a good nights sleep.

Reviewer:Susan M | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 2 days ago


Great- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Hotel on the Isle of Wight a fantastic hotel great reception room was a disabled room and was very well adapted awners and staff very attentive even though very busy very recommendable ideal stop on a two day trip around the island we look forward to staying again

Reviewer:Pauline P | Fri 7th Jun 2019 | 1 week ago


Bedford Lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A truly lovely place to stay and brilliantly situated for almost all of what Shanklind has to offer.Gilly and Gary make excellent hosts and we would definitely come and stay here again.Plus,the garden is beautiful and very peaceful - a wonderful place to just sit and look around you.I would give you 4.5 our of five but only because nobody is perfect!

Reviewer:John M | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 1 week ago


An overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your warm and enthusiastic welcome.We were comfortable in our room and the breakfast was well cooked and tasty.We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Reviewer:Karin C | Fri 31st May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

The host are terrific the room beautiful location superb and breakfast lovely cannot fault it x

Reviewer:Miss Karen C | Tue 28th May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Exeptional! - Rating 5/5

An amazing Wedding/"Mini-moon"week,greatly enhanced by our stay at Bedford Lodge.Gilly &Gary made our stay an absolute pleasure. Idyllic location,spacious,clean &comfortable rooms &excellent breakfast (locally sourced).It is clear that this &numerous other glowing reviews are a result of Gilly &Gary's hard work &attention to detail .... Bless you both! We look forward to our next stay!

Response

It was lovely to meet you both, and a privilege to be part of your special day! See you for the anniversary!

Reviewer:Adrian & Louise B | Mon 27th May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Bedford Lodge.Great location, comfortable rooms, charming hosts and staff. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Lucio M | Sun 26th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Our stay in May - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay as always. That’s why we keep coming back! Thanks very much for looking after us 😃

Reviewer:Rena G | Sat 25th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


quiet but central location - Rating 5/5

Nice, friendly place in a central location.

Reviewer:Lucinda W | Tue 21st May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Grave visit - Rating 5/5

Just as pleased this year as we were when we stayed in 2018. Very friendly, will do anything for you, good food, spotless rooms, very comfortable. Please make sure there is a place for us when we come back next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. it was a pleasure to see you both again. Same time next year?!:)

Reviewer:Mr Malcolm O | Fri 17th May 2019 | 1 month ago


A very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We picked the Bedford lodge based on reviews and location, the reviews were very true and the location ideal, quiet and yet close to transportation. We should also mention the generous breakfast and the kind landlords.One piece of advice, if you are like me tall and heavy treat yourself and pick a regular or a large room, small means small.

Reviewer:Jean-Francois G | Wed 15th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent wekend break - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at the Bedford Lodge. The hosts were very good, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent and our room very nice really clean, lots of facilities like fans , hotwater bottles if needed. If we stayed in shanklin again would definetly choose the Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:IAN P | Tue 14th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Warmest of welcomes - Rating 5/5

Lovely trip to the Isle of Wight for a birthday treat (albeit brief). Made all the more special by Gilly's warm welcome at Bedford Lodge. Slightly old fashioned style, but with its own charm and oh so comfortable. And the breakfast is anything you could wish for...

Reviewer:Joy F | Mon 13th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic Place, amazing character and even better service - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Character, lovely rooms and really friendly serviceCentral location with parking available. It's a real boutique style that makes you feel comfortable to hang around the communal areas and chat. The rooms are clean and brilliantly presented. I was with a party of three and each room had it's own style. Its little touches like having a socket near the bed to charge phones overnight, a kettle that doesn't take 30 mins to boil and plenty of tea/coffee/milk that make the difference.The breakfast was very well cooked, serving from 8:30 till 10, although there is no rush to get out. Gilly, the owner was really friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help.It's safe to say we will definitely go again

Reviewer:Glenn D | Sat 11th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Had a wonderfully comfortable sleep and woke up to a well cooked full English breakfast.Hosts very warm and hospitable.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Edwina N | Sat 11th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Very Happy Stay - Rating 5/5

We have travelled the world, many areas of the UK. But have stayed in accommodation which as been first class, and the Bedford Lodge has matched all of these. So when we return it's the Bedford Lodge for us. Thank you Gilly and Gary, you hit the Bulls Eye.

Reviewer:ronald l | Thu 9th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Wonderful B & B - Rating 5/5

Love staying at the Bedford Lodge, Gilly &Gary are fabulous hosts who go out if their way to make you feel welcome.Our room was beautiful, it opened out on to the terrace,perfect to sit with an early morning cuppa to watch for the red squirrels. Recommend starting the day with the locally sourced Full English breakfast, delicious. Will be back very soon xx

Reviewer:Michelle B | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Pre Easter break - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Bedford Lodge on several occasions in the recent past. That in itself says a good deal. It is friendly, well run, set in a large garden and there is a lovely lounge. The patio faces south. The old village of Shanklin has plenty of good places to eat and an excellent traditional theatre. The walk to the beach involves a climb back up hill but it's not too bad. We can manage it!

Reviewer:Mrs R | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Great stay, great people and excellent venue - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Bedford Lodge for two nights and must say it was an excellent experience from start to finish...Rooms immaculate, spotless clean and rooms very fresh, the owners are lovely, warm and friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast extremely good, had poached eggs on brown toast and it was just right.would, am going to stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to a friend! A little hidden gem😊 keep up the good work Gary and Ginny and see you very soon! Paul H

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


A pleasure from start to finish and excellent value for money... - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Bedford Lodge for two nights and must say it was an excellent experience from start to finish...Rooms immaculate, spotless clean and rooms very fresh, the owners are lovely, warm and friendly without being intrusive and the breakfast extremely good, had poached eggs on brown toast and it was just right.would, am going to stay again and would not hesitate to recommend to a friend! A little hidden gem😊 keep up the good work Gary and Ginny and see you very soon! Paul H

Reviewer:Paul H | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

Gilly &Gary are very welcoming and are wonderful hosts. Having breakfast still available until 10am is a bonus. Lovely setting, too. I have been coming here for 12 years and is always my first choice of hotel.

Response

It was good to see you again, Mike. Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you again later in the year.Gilly

Reviewer:Mike B | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent B&B.- Rating 5/5

Everything we could have needed on our break. Wonderful breakfasts and nothing was too much trouble. Hoping to come back in the near future.

Reviewer:John A | Wed 13th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


A lovely weekend break- Rating 5/5

Another stay at the Bedford Lodge enjoying the friendly hospitality of Gilly and Gary. Always a very warm and homely feeling to the place as well as excellent breakfasts.

Reviewer:Gordon T | Tue 12th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


1 x night stay- Rating 5/5

A pleasure as always. Made to feel very welcome, a kind of home from home feeling.Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Simon O | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 3 months ago


5 Stars - Rating 5/5

Bedford Lodge has everything you could ask for in a hotel.Ideal position, lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast and a friendly atmosphere.Gilly and Gary are perfect hosts.

Response

Lovely review - thank you Sarah. It was lovely to see you again.Gillyx

Reviewer:Sara M | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


One night stand - Rating 5/5

We travelled over for just the one night and left wishing we could have stayed a week.Gilly was an excellent host and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and comfortable and would recommend it to all my friends.Great location and no taxis required for dinner and drinks in the evening. Breakfast was first class.We shall certainly be back again.Big thank you to Gilly and GaryChris and Jacks

Response

Lovely review! Thank you. It was nice to meet you both, hope you come back soon!Gilly

Reviewer:Chris R | Mon 11th Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely place- Rating 5/5

Room lovely,clean and everything looks new and shiny. Bed and bedding ultra comfy! Bathroom spotless.Dining area very pretty.Hosts are so friendly.Breakfast delicious.One little suggestion..make directions to the lodge a little clearer.Thanks for your hospitality Gilly. Best wishes for the coming season.

Response

Thank you, Amanda.

Reviewer:Amanda p | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Gilly and her husband were very friendly hosts. The cooked breafast kept me going till evening. Although out of season shanklin still has a lot to offer and the hotel is situated 5 minute walk to the seafront and a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants. A very comfortable stay so I highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Ashley D | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Sincere recommendation. - Rating 5/5

The kindness and consideration shown by our hosts was magnificent.The accommodation was very good as was the breakfast.I can thoroughly recommend The Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:Stephen L | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Sincere recommendation. - Rating 5/5

The kindness and consideration shown by our hosts was magnificent.The accommodation was very good as was the breakfast.I can thoroughly recommend The Bedford Lodge.

Reviewer:Stephen L | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Would most certainly recommend- Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay with wonderful attention from owners. Always there for any requirements. Very comfortable room. Would definitely recommend and will most certainly use them again when next visiting the Island

Reviewer:John S | Sat 22nd Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We will definitely be back, perfect hosts, comfy beds, great breakfast, can't fault it.

Response

Thank you Christine! Lovely to meet you all! Especially when you first arrived! Most entertaining! Hope to see you again.Gilly x

Reviewer:Christine B | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 6 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

I can’t recommend the Bedford Lodge enough - both Gilly &Gary are amazing hosts who do their utmost to make your stay a perfect one! Nothing is too much trouble &the breakfasts are fabulous - the emphasis is on a leisurely, relaxed atmosphere with views across the beautiful garden - and the islands red squirrels if you’re as lucky as we were!I can’t thank Gilly &Gary enough for making our trip with our parents so memorable &will most definitely be back very soon!

Response

Thank you for your kind words, Sally! It was a pleasure to meet you all! Alex has a wicked sense of humour!Looking forward to your next visit.Gilly x

Reviewer:Sally L | Mon 26th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Bedford Lodge there was 4 of us booked 2 rooms both of which were very comfortable. Was given a lovely welcome by Gilly on arrival and was very well looked after. The breakfast every morning was superb cooked to order many thanks to Gary, 'The King Of The Kitchen' and also Linda who served us every morning always with a smile and couldn't do enough for you. Parking was great as well. We stayed for a weekend in October and would certainly recommend the Bedford Lodge in Shanklin and would definately book there again. Much appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr P F | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 7 months ago


Our Best stay while on holiday - Rating 5/5

I would rate our stay 5 stars!100% happy. Exceptional breakfast, cleanliness, Amazing hosts, Comfortable in one of the best settings and garden, parking and short walk into the most beautiful Village of Shanklin. Thank you soooo much for your hospitality we shall be back 🤗

Reviewer:Merylin G | Sat 27th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Top notch in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Greeted very warmly by Gary and Jilly, the perfect hosts. This is The place to stay in Shanklin, perfect in every way. Very comfortable rooms, beautiful lounge to relax in and superb breakfast. Lovely location.

Response

Thank you for your kind words, Sue. It was lovely to meet you all. Thanks again for inviting us to the concert - it was a brilliant show! We are huge fans now! Hope Albert\'s graze healed OK?

Reviewer:Sue H | Thu 25th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay. Excellent hosts. Excellent location. Excellent room

Reviewer:Andy H | Sat 20th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Bedford lodge stay- Rating 4/5

We had a very nice stay with Gilly &Gary, the hotel was very good also the food. We will be going back Beryl &Paul

Reviewer:Beryl M | Thu 18th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


B&B - Rating 5/5

Very satisfied with my stay here - staff very friendly and pleasant

Reviewer:Steven D | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Karl&PaulineJobes - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous 4 night break, it was like home from home,Gilly&Garry were so welcoming &nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic &great choice,will certainly be going back again.

Reviewer:Karl J | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


A little gem... - Rating 5/5

Beautiful, quirky, friendly and perfectly located to enjoy Shanklin's stunning seafront!

Reviewer:Michael M | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Isle Of Wights Gem - Rating 5/5

An absolutely fantastic hotel in a great locationGilly and Gary are awesome hosts and so welcoming and all the staff are fantasticI have been before and will definitely be coming again.

Reviewer:Mark W | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Enjoyable and relaxing stay at the Bedford- Rating 5/5

The past stay was my18th four night break, 3rd as a couple, and was just as enjoyable and relaxing asall the previous times at the Bedford.We look forward to our next stay with you and your excellent staff.

Response

Thank you for a lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you both back.

Reviewer:C | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Bedford Lodge - Rating 4/5

We found the place was well maintained and clean.Gilly and her husband were friendly and welcoming.They and the staff tried to do everything to make sure our needs were met.Excellent location.The only thing that bothered us was the size of room when we had specifically paid more for a large room and were allocated a small room.

Reviewer:Varsha P | Wed 3rd Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Superb b&b in shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B. Tremendous breakfast. Lovely welcoming owners and staff. Woyld highly recommend.

Reviewer:Barry g | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Having used this hotel on quite a few occasions over the years,i am never disappointed.Ideal location, very comfortable,friendly,lovely gardens and the ideal place to relax for that much needed getaway.Love Room 11.

Reviewer:Derek S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Beautiful building, amazing breakfast, lovely rooms and Gilly &Gary can't do enough for their guests.

Reviewer:Christine R | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Mini Break on The Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our mini break at The Bedford Lodge, great position in the centre of Old Shanklin,Gilly and Gary so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, rooms really comfortable and lovely breakfast ( Omelettes yummy ) highly recommend to anyone .

Reviewer:Jacqueline G | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Linda & Charley- Rating 5/5

Always made to feel welcome.Well looked after.Clean rooms well stocked tea/coffee each day.Friendly hosts.

Reviewer:Lynda C | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely, clean and very accommodating- Rating 5/5

I checked in very late at night but Gilly had left a helpful welcome note for me. Room was clean, comfy and compact. I had to check out early, and she kindly left me some delicious croissants, fruit (sorry i didn't havd time to eat it!) and even some soya milk which I had requested.Thanks for having me!

Response

You are very welcome Charly! Thanks for a nice review! Sorry we never met - maybe next time!Gilly

Reviewer:Charly W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 8 months ago


Our stay at Bedford Lodge - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for a week at the Bedford Lodge hotel, the owners Gilly &Gary were warm friendly and approachable.The breakfast was excellent with a good choice on the menu.The room was clean and comfortable.The hotel is set in lovely surroundings.We thourougly recommend this hotel for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr A G | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We decided to book the Lodge fairly last minuite. Not knowing what to expect we found that the whole place was very presented and quite homely, the room itself was brillaint and quite clean and modern. All the staff were friendly, talkative and helpful. Breakfast espeacially was brillaint. Would deffinitaly go back.

Reviewer:Matthew S | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Great hotel, great hosts - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

This hotel is in a great location, the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, and the hosts really helpful. I was unable to have the full breakfast as I was leaving very early in the morning but the hosts offered to leave out a continental breakfast for me to have or take with me - a really nice touch which added to the 'make yourself at home' warm welcome I received on arrival. Considering all this, the price of the room was really good value. I would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Reviewer:Ben T | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


another great visit - Rating 5/5

Lovely couple of days - the new owners run a great B&B - we'll be back (again!)

Reviewer:Peter D | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Plenty of choice for breakfast, nicely cooked.Pleasant stay comfortable bedrooms. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Maureen M | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Properly looked after - Rating 5/5

100% satisfied...................!

Response

Thank you Alec!Gilly x

Reviewer:Alec S | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm Friendly Island Welcome - Rating 5/5

Brilliant gem in the centre of Shanklin Old Village. Lovely establishment with immaculate rooms. Added bonus was the red squirrels enjoying their breakfast in the garden outside the main breakfast room. Would highly recommend and I wish I had found it sooner

Reviewer:Anne W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Excellent as always - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Bedford Lodge a few times now and every time has been exceptional!This year there were new owners - Gilly and Gary who were fantastic!Nothing was too much trouble.It was my partner - Steve's - 60th birthday whilst we were there and they decorated our breakfast table and Gilly even made him a chocolate (which was unbelievably tasty).We will be staying again next August Bank Holiday as we come down with a crowd of friends for the scooter rally.Would highly recommend!Thank you Gilly and Gary. xx

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, Ros! I was good to meet you at last! It was great fun organising the Birthday celabration for Steve! looking forward to seeing you next year!Gilly x

Reviewer:Mrs R T | Mon 10th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Bedford lodge vacation - Rating 5/5

Will not stay anywhere else on the island unless you close down , and don't think that's on the cards , so our custom is yours . Could not make us feel any more welcome than you did . All perfect ...thankyou ps the new bar is an extra bonus!!

Response

We don\'t plan on going anywhere for many years! It was a pleasure having you both stay again! Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:LANGTON u | Fri 31st Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


The most wonderful place to stay !!!! - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Bedford Lodge many times and each time is so special, beautiful grounds, clean comfortable lovely rooms, great breakfasts, and to top it all the new owners Jilly and Gary are wonderful !!!!....we fully recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere to stay on The Isle of Wight to look no further, this place is a real joy !!!!....

Response

Thank you for your kind words! Lovely to meet you both! And the lovely Bessie and Bertie! x

Reviewer:SMITH Richard & | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


A good find - Rating 5/5

A comfortable stay in a friendly place. A warm welcome when we arrived, nicely appointed rooms, splendid breakfast. The honesty bar is a nice touch.

Reviewer:Philip L | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Short July break - Rating 5/5

The hotel is well situated in the old part of the town. It is very relaxing and the stay was most enjoyable. The stroll down to the beach is easy but the walk back takes a little effort. But I can handle it without any trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs G R | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Our stay at Bedford lodge- Rating 5/5

A most enjoyable stay and made to feel very welcome.Our room was comfortable and had a good view over the garden.A very good choice of breakfast both hot and cold. We look forward to our next visit to Bedford lodge

Reviewer:J | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent hotel and hosts - Rating 5/5

The hosts Gilly and Gary have only been at the hotel for a couple of months and they are very welcoming and make you feel at home . It is a very relaxed. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. The hotel is situated in a lovely position by Shanklin chine and is close to local shops and restaurants. Gilly also arranged the ferry crossing for us too, which was a great help. Would highly recommend the Bedford Lodge. We wish them all the best in their new new venture.

Reviewer:Neil C | Sun 1st Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely place to stay- Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B in a good location for lovely pubs and tea rooms. Staff at the B&B were very friendly. The breakfast was fantastic, lots of choices. Our room was on the top floor and the only criticism was that it was far too hot up there, definitely needed a fan in the room, and also the bed was very creeky, needs attention. Other than that we had a lovely stay. Thank you.

Reviewer:Tony B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Rest After the IOW Fest - Rating 5/5

Excellent place to stay very friendly owners and staff.

Reviewer:Martin C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


Bedford lodge, Shanklin - Rating 5/5

A perfect stay, comfortable, clean and friendly. With bus stops within two minutes walk exploring the island is on the doorstep.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:theresa A | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 11 months ago


A short break to relax - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed staying here in the relaxed surroundings, and comfortable house. Very helpful owners, and generous breakfasts on offer. The sunny terrace is lovely for a tea/coffee. Handy location.

Reviewer:Margaret D | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 1 year ago


Our visit to the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time but four things were a dissapointment St Catherines lighthouse was shut, The steam trains were not running, Crab pasties were not available on Tuesday and we didn't see a red squirrel SO we may be back. Always a silver lining!!

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat